Alternate Language Software Keyboard Mappings

Have questions? Just saying hello? This is the place.
No explicit, hateful, or hurtful language. Nothing illegal.

Postby Nicholas » 01-08-08 12:15 am

NOTE: Updating this is much easier (and uniform between the Windows and Mac version of Synthesia) since the config tool was introduced in version 0.7.4 and 0.7.5. Any posts below that refer to the Windows registry or Mac plists are out-dated. The proper way to set these up is through the config tool as described here.

The following have been provided by the community to setup the in-game software keyboard to use different language (typing) keyboards. I can't test these myself, so they're provided as-is, but hopefully they'll be useful.

If you would like to provide a mapping for another keyboard, post here and I'll keep the top-post updated.

To use any of these, hold Shift while launching Synthesia, select "System.SoftwareKeyboardMapping" from the list and then paste the following into the "Value" box. That's it. The next time you run Synthesia after closing the config tool, the software keyboard should be bound to the correct keys for your keyboard.

US/UK English (default):
Code: Select all
awsedftgyhujkolp;'

German AZERTY keyboards:
Code: Select all
qzsedftgyhujkolp;

German QWERTZ keyboards:
Code: Select all
awsedftgzhujkolpöä

Swedish keyboards:
Code: Select all
awsedftgyhujkolpöä

Danish keyboards:
Code: Select all
awsedftgyhujkolpæø

Italian keyboards:
Code: Select all
awsedftgyhujkolpòà

French keyboards:
Code: Select all
qzsedftgyhujkolpmù
Nicholas
 
Posts: 10685

Postby tommai78101 » 01-23-08 11:58 am

Here's a reference to most keymapping layouts:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Keyboard_layout
Hardware Information: Windows Vista Home Premium SP1, 358MB Mobile Intel Graphics Media Accelerator X3100, Synthesia 0.7.1 preview r697, 2 GB DDRAM, 1.6 GHz Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2330, Acer Aspire 5720-4126
New Hardware Information: Windows 10 Pro, 2GB Nvidia GeForce 860M, 8GB RAM, 1.7GHz Core-i5 4210U, Alienware 13 R1.
tommai78101
 
Posts: 762

Postby Michael » 01-30-08 8:05 pm

As far as I know has Germany QWERTZ keyboards. So I made a keymap for it (dunno if it is 100% correct but I'm really confident it is).

synthesia_german_qwertz_keyboard.reg
German QWERTZ keyboards
(266 Bytes) Downloaded 1867 times


Okay also made a US DVORAK keymap.

synthesia_us_dvorak_keyboard.reg
US Dvorak (Dvorak Simplified) keyboards
(130 Bytes) Downloaded 1874 times
Michael
Synthesia Donor
 
Posts: 13

Postby febs » 05-08-09 6:46 pm

Here's a working file for italian keyboards. So far I haven't seen any other layout than this on any PC in all of my life; so I think this one will work for everybody.

Thanks
Attachments
synthesia_it_keyboard.reg
synthesia keyboard registry file for italian PC keyboards
(132 Bytes) Downloaded 1574 times
febs
 
Posts: 66

Postby jexbe » 11-05-09 8:51 am

ONLY FOR WINDOWS
Open the notepad and copy all text below (without lines):

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Synthesia]
"Software Keyboard Mapping"="123456789ABCDEFGHIJK"
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
paste it in the notepad
setup your keyboard as you wich like this (just replace letters by keys to be used)
letters JK will change the keys position (J=left - K=right)

save this file as Keyboard.reg then double click to activate it
Attachments
keybrd.jpg
layout
keybrd.jpg (29.56 KiB) Viewed 55145 times
jexbe
 
Posts: 7

Postby Nicholas » 03-21-10 5:20 pm

Let me add how to update these on a Mac, too. All you have to do is open a terminal window and type the following (using the same scheme from the image above):
Code: Select all
defaults write com.synthesia "Software Keyboard Mapping" "123456789ABCDEFGHIJK"

Obviously you'll want to replace the "1234..." part with the actual keys on your keyboard you'd like to press.
Nicholas
 
Posts: 10685

Postby cairnz » 06-15-10 1:53 pm

doing this in osx
Code: Select all
defaults write com.synthesia "Software Keyboard Mapping" "awsedftgyhujkolpøæzx"


results in this from defaults read com.synthesia
Code: Select all
    "Software Keyboard Mapping" = "awsedftgyhujkolp\\U00f8\\U00e6zx";


Looking at the .plist i see this
Code: Select all
mido^P^T^@a^@w^@s^@e^@d^@f^@t^@g^@y^@h^@u^@j^@k^@o^@l^@p^@ø^@æ^@z^@x^@^H^@K^@Z^@d^@q^@<89>^@<9e>^@²^@Í^@Ú^@ï^A^K^A&^A;^AE^AS^Al^A<80>^A<95>^A­^AÈ^AÞ^Aô^B^O^B0^BL^Bh^B<81>^B<97>^B¤^B»^BÑ^Bí^C^C^C^E^C  ^C%^CC^CJ^Ca^Cc^Cº^@^@^@^@^@^@^B^A^@^@^@^@^@^@^@*^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^Cå


As you can see the ø and æ is in the plist (when viewed through vi)

I'm downloading the developer tools now, so to try the plist edit thing gui, maybe it doesn't translate the unicode crap like terminal does.
Last edited by cairnz on 06-15-10 2:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
cairnz
 
Posts: 182

Postby cairnz » 06-15-10 2:06 pm

That didn't help much either. Keyboard playing on my shiny macbookpro can't access the higher two whites. :sad:
User avatar
cairnz
 
Posts: 182

Postby Nicholas » 06-15-10 6:02 pm

Hmm... I wonder if it's an encoding thing. If there is some alternative to the \\U00xx notation... I'll have to peek around.

Eventually when I make it to "User-assignable Input" (currently #7 on the list), I guess I'll have to store key codes or something instead of the characters. If anything, it'll have to get more sophisticated because you'll be able to assign MIDI controllers (knobs, jogs, wheels, etc.) and (maybe) even game controller input to whatever. So, it'll be a more interesting construct storing this stuff to begin with.
Nicholas
 
Posts: 10685

Postby cairnz » 06-16-10 3:53 am

I've only had the mac for a day and a half so i haven't figured out all the quirks yet, but in windows you can have multiple languages defined and per-application layout setting. Is there anything similar to mac? if so, I could set it to be US layout so that the keys "translate" to the same as the default setup.
User avatar
cairnz
 
Posts: 182

Postby Nicholas » 06-16-10 11:58 am

cairnz wrote:... in windows you can have multiple languages defined and per-application layout setting. Is there anything similar to mac?

That's a fine question for someone that knows more about OS X than I do. ;)
Nicholas
 
Posts: 10685

Postby cairnz » 06-20-10 10:11 am

I added the US keyboard, started synthesia, tasked out, changed the norwegian flag to USA flag and ; and ' is now getting typed instead of ø and æ. Not too convenient, but nevertheless it's a workaround :)
User avatar
cairnz
 
Posts: 182

Postby Nicholas » 06-20-10 12:35 pm

Hehe, that's a super inconvenient work-around. :o
Nicholas
 
Posts: 10685

Postby Nicholas » 10-09-10 10:47 pm

(Updated the top-post with new instructions now that the config tool exists and makes this easy and uniform on both platforms.)
Nicholas
 
Posts: 10685

Postby Strainer » 11-28-10 12:58 pm

The keyboard mapping for germany has one mistake, the z button is mapped twice, here is the correct version:
Code: Select all
awsedftgzhujkolpöäyx


Greets
Strainer
 
Posts: 7

Postby Nicholas » 11-28-10 4:18 pm

Thanks for the correction! I fixed it in the top post.
Nicholas
 
Posts: 10685

Postby Lemo » 04-03-11 1:00 pm

Hello everyone
Keyboard mapping for french keyboards
Code: Select all
qzsedftgyhujkolpmùwx
Stuff & experiments for Synthesia: Gramp v0.2SkinboxFireSynthVideoWebradio
Lemo
 
Posts: 313

Postby Toxic338 » 12-11-11 6:38 am

It seems I am too stupid to do that. ^^ Well, there is no "System.SoftwareKeyboardMapping"... I don't find it at the Advanced Options. There are only:
"Bank Selcet" Fix
SysEx messages
Discard notes that never end
Use a unique channel.... AND
"Hard" reset MIDI

PLeeeeease help me, I need the german keyboard... That's annoying -.-
Toxic338
 
Posts: 5

Postby Nicholas » 12-11-11 3:36 pm

Toxic338 wrote:I don't find it at the Advanced Options.

There should be a scrollbar on that list. There are dozens and dozens of advanced options. The software keyboard one is near the bottom.
Nicholas
 
Posts: 10685

Postby Toxic338 » 12-11-11 3:43 pm

No, there isn't... ':(
Toxic338
 
Posts: 5

Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users