Synthesia DOS Configuration Utility

Have questions? Just saying hello? This is the place.
No explicit, hateful, or hurtful language. Nothing illegal.

Postby aria1121 » 04-08-11 7:10 am

Synthesia DOS Configuration Utility v1.5.2r52 and v1.4.4r146fXP

This is a useful tool I made to backup, restore and view the configurationsettingfiles and logfiles of Synthesia, that are saved in the AppData Directory.
It is easy to use, because it is a batch-script. Every new version will be announced here.

Specifications:
- The batchfile is designed to support Vista and 7. Should also run in DOS Mode (not in an emulator)
- Synthesia should've been installed at least once (or written in the AppData directory) and it is recommended to have it closed for optimal performance
- The batchfile compiled to EXE, so I added a cool icon for it
- Built-in error-reporting, so no need to figure out what happend when something went wrong
- For the batchfile I also added some fun'n'useful stuff in the Advanced Menu
- The AutoHotkey (AHK) for Windows XP may need AutoHotkey installed. See download below.

Download:
Note This project is currently abandonned and I will restart this project later. It is very outdated and is unstable with newer versions of Windows. I will keep answering questions below though.
I've worked so long on it at debuggin', but please report any bugs (suddenly closing or getting errors). Idea's are welcome too.

Windows XP:
The Windows XP version is a compiled AutoHotkey script instead of a compiled DOS batchscriptfile. You may need AutoHotkey to run the file. (Install AutoHotkey, then you should be to open the file like normal, compile if you like).
SynDOSCFG_v1.1.1r12fXP.zip
(371.44 KiB) Downloaded 402 times

Windows Vista/7:
Download latest version below (Older downloads will be replaced if there is a more updated version available)
The ZIP file contains SynDOSCFG as a batchfile. You can open it like normal, it will open in a CMD window.
SynDOSCFG_v1.5.2r52.bat.zip
(7.19 KiB) Downloaded 397 times

Latest SynDOSCFG dev-status:
- (Nothing changed for a while...)

Upcoming features:
- (Currently none)

Source:
Spoiler:
For those who are more interested, here is a more dev'd version for XP in AHK. I noticed that I haven't uploaded it, so I'll just leave the old compiled one and post the newer one as script. Here it is:
Code: Select all
; SynDOSCFG_v1.4.4r146_AHKfXP
; SynDOSCFGfXPv1.0.1r1

;The following must prevent running this script on an OS else than Windows XP
if A_OSVersion not in WIN_XP
{
    MsgBox Windows XP is required to run this script.`nOther OS's aren't supported.
    ExitApp
}


; To prevent dealing problems with Main/Menu, Menu will direct automatically to Main.
Menu:
Goto, Main

; Mainmenu
Main:
Gui, Add, Picture, x556 y47 w120 h120 , C:\Users\SLC\Desktop\UsefulUtilities2\SynDOSCFG\synicogif3.ico
Gui, Add, Text, x226 y7 w220 h20 +Multi, SynDOSCFG v1.0.1r1_Windows XP version
Gui, Add, Text, x186 y47 w190 h20 , Synthesia configurationfiles to desktop
Gui, Add, Text, x246 y87 w270 h20 , Synthesia is made and copyrighted by Nicholas.
Gui, Add, Text, x246 y107 w270 h20 , SynDOSCFG is an open-source AutoHotkeyscript, see
Gui, Add, Text, x246 y127 w270 h20 , SynDOSCFG's website for source and latest version.
Gui, Add, Text, x556 y167 w120 h30 +Center, For Keyboard-only navigation press [Alt]
Gui, Add, GroupBox, x6 y17 w540 h60 , Main options
Gui, Add, GroupBox, x6 y77 w230 h120 , Other options
Gui, Add, Button, x16 y37 w140 h30 +Center gBackup, &Backup
Gui, Add, Button, x396 y37 w140 h30 gRestore, &Restore
Gui, Add, Button, x26 y97 w190 h30 gAppDataOpen, Open Synthesia's &AppData Location
Gui, Add, Button, x26 y127 w190 h30 gSecConfigMgr, Open Synthesia's &Config Manager
Gui, Add, Button, x26 y157 w190 h30 gSynLaunch, &Launch Synthesia if present
Gui, Add, Button, x246 y157 w120 h30 gSynLaunchWeb, Synthesia's mainpage
Gui, Add, Button, x396 y157 w120 h30 gSynDOSCFGWeb, &SynDOSCFG's website
; Generated using SmartGUI Creator 4.0
Gui, Show, x8 y291 h208 w685, New GUI Window
Return




; Backup, Checks if configurationfiles to copy exist
Backup:
IfExist, "%A_AppData%\Synthesia"
   Goto, Backup2
IfNotExist, "%A_AppData%\Synthesia"
   Goto, Error05
Return

; Configurationfiles found, user must input confirmation to copy
Backup2:
MsgBox, 4, Configurationfiles found. Copy configurationfiles to Desktop\SynCFG?`nExisting files won't be overridden.
IfMsgBox Yes
   Goto, Backup3
IfMsgBox No
   Goto, Main
Return

; User confirmed to copy and files will be copied
Backup3:
FileCopy, "%A_AppData%\Synthesia\*.*", "%A_Desktop%\SynCFG"
MsgBox, 0, Backup Succesful, Backup done.
IfMsgBox OK
   Goto, Main
Return




; Restore, Checks if Desktop\SynCFG exist
Restore:
IfExist, "%A_Desktop%\SynCFG"
   Goto, Restore2
IfNotExist, "%A_Desktop%\SynCFG"
   Goto, Error06
Return

; Desktop\SynCFG found, user must input confirmation to restore
Restore2:
MsgBox, 4, Configurationfiles found. Restore configurationfiles to Desktop\SynCFG?`nExisting files won't be overridden.
IfMsgBox Yes
   Goto, Restore3
IfMsgBox No
   Goto, Main
Return

; User confirmed to restore and files will be restored
Restore3:
FileCopy, "%A_Desktop%\SynCFG", "%A_AppData%\Synthesia\*.*"
MsgBox, 0, Configurationfiles restored succesfully., The configurationfiles are restored.
IfMsgBox OK
   Goto, Main
Return




; Opens the %AppData%\Synthesia if exists
AppDataOpen:
IfExist, "%A_AppData%\Synthesia"
   Run, "%A_AppData%\Synthesia"
IfNotExist, "%A_AppData%\Synthesia"
   Goto, Error07
Return




; Opens Synthesia's own Config Manager if exists
SecConfigMgr:
IfExist, "%SYSTEMDRIVE%\Program Files\Synthesia\SynthesiaConfig.exe"
   Run, "%SYSTEMDRIVE%\Program Files\Synthesia\SynthesiaConfig.exe"
IfNotExist, "%SYSTEMDRIVE%\Program Files\Synthesia\SynthesiaConfig.exe"
   Goto, Error07
Return




; Executes Synthesia from Program Files if exists
SynLaunch:
IfExist, "%SYSTEMDRIVE%\Program Files\Synthesia\Synthesia.exe"
   Run, "%SYSTEMDRIVE%\Program Files\Synthesia\Synthesia.exe"
IfNotExist, "%SYSTEMDRIVE%\Program Files\Synthesia\Synthesia.exe"
   Goto, Error07
Return




; Opens the webpage of Synthesia in Internet Explorer
SynLaunchWeb:
IfExist, "%SYSTEMDRIVE%\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe"
   Run, "%SYSTEMDRIVE%\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe http://www.synthesiagame.com/"
IfNotExist, "%SYSTEMDRIVE%\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe"
   Goto, Error08
Return




; Opens the topic of SynDOSCFG on Synthesia's Forum in Internet Explorer
SynDOSCFGWeb:
IfExist, "%SYSTEMDRIVE%\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe"
   Run, "%SYSTEMDRIVE%\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe https://www.synthesiagame.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=2972#p18788"
IfNotExist, "%SYSTEMDRIVE%\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe"
   Goto, Error08
Return




; If any error will occur, this series of messageboxes will warn what went wrong, else AutoHotkey does (thus, a scriptfault)
Error05:
MsgBox, 0, SynDOSCFG, Error 5`nSynDOSCFG could not find %AppData%\Synthesia.`nSynthesia may not be installed.
Goto, Main
Return

Error06:
MsgBox, 0, SynDOSCFG, Error 6`nSynDOSCFG could not find Desktop\SynCFG.
Goto, Main
Return

Error07:
MsgBox, 0, SynDOSCFG, Error 7`nSynDOSCFG could not find the location %AppData%\Synthesia.`nSynthesia may not be installed.
Goto, Main
Return

Error08:
MsgBox, 0, SynDOSCFG, Error 7`nSynDOSCFG could not find Internet Explorer.`nInternet Explorer may be uninstalled.
Goto, Main
Return




;Where the application quits at all time
GuiClose:
ExitApp

Even though for you is copying my code easy because it is not compiled, consider not to steal it as it is copyrighted. It is 1300 lines of code and I have put lots of effort in it.
(C) Copyright aria1121 2012 CC Creative Commons 3.0 BY-NC-ND
Last edited by aria1121 on 04-14-13 10:47 am, edited 54 times in total.
aria1121
 
Posts: 1502

Postby aria1121 » 04-08-11 11:09 am

v1.0.1r104 is up

Edit: Uploaded wrong thing, sorry for that. Fixed it ;)
aria1121
 
Posts: 1502

Postby RichNagel » 04-08-11 2:21 pm

Hey, that's pretty spiffy :) What did you use to compile the batch file to a Win32 EXE? Hehe, I'm fondly reminded of the *ANCIENT* "BAT2EXE" for DOS from decades ago <grin>.

Anyhow, just a-wondering, as I'm always on the hunt for handy batch file utilities and such :)
User avatar
RichNagel
 
Posts: 70
Location: Crystal River, Florida

Postby aria1121 » 04-08-11 5:28 pm

Over here ;)

Edit Link removed
Edit2 Removing the link is kinda useless, since in the post below you can still find it in the reply.
Last edited by aria1121 on 02-06-12 11:55 am, edited 2 times in total.
aria1121
 
Posts: 1502

Postby RichNagel » 04-08-11 7:14 pm

aria1121 wrote:Over here ;)


Many thanks! :)

Hehe, over on there page here -> http://www.computerhope.com/dutil.htm they even mention the old BAT2EXE.COM that I was refering to earlier :)
User avatar
RichNagel
 
Posts: 70
Location: Crystal River, Florida

Postby aria1121 » 04-09-11 9:09 am

The main reason to compile it to an EXE (not to add a cool logo) was 'cause I wanted to hide the code.
Another reason was to be sure that it would run in a command-window, so people won't mess with their RunDLL to open it with programs that can't open it.
aria1121
 
Posts: 1502

Postby aria1121 » 04-09-11 11:12 am

v1.1.2r107 is up. DevList excluded. Small bug at the new "Open MIDI" screen, I am still busy at fixing that.
Last edited by aria1121 on 04-09-11 12:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
aria1121
 
Posts: 1502

Postby aria1121 » 04-09-11 12:29 pm

v1.2.0r110 is up
Please keep in mind that by opening a MIDI file this way, RunDLL32 and amovie.ocx will be made use of.
DevList no longer included in ZIP file.
aria1121
 
Posts: 1502

Postby Nicholas » 04-09-11 5:05 pm

aria1121 wrote:... was 'cause I wanted to hide the code.

This is creepy and the reason I haven't run it on my computer yet. ;)
Nicholas
 
Posts: 11867

Postby aria1121 » 04-09-11 5:30 pm

Newly discovered: The executable may fail if your %OS% is installed on any other partition than C:\. I will try to fix this, if anyone has problems with this.
EDIT: This should be fixed.
Last edited by aria1121 on 04-11-11 1:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
aria1121
 
Posts: 1502

Postby aria1121 » 04-10-11 2:53 am

v1.2.1r111 is up
Now support for computers with %OS% installed on any other partition. (Like Windows on D:\ or Z:\)

There won't come a new version for a while since it is already more than perfect, and not every part is yet tested.
So please report bugs!
aria1121
 
Posts: 1502

Postby aria1121 » 04-24-11 1:25 pm

v1.3.0r115 is up
Now full support for %OS%, if it's installed on any other partition than C:\. Like in DOSBOX, then it should automatically halt because there is absolutely nothing to load.
Also some bug fixes. It shouldn't close in the Advanced Menu when opening setting-files. They should now also open always in Notepad (when using SynDOSCFG). They shouldn't suddenly open when in the 'Help' section. I edited the text of the "Loading..." screens. Check it out, please report any bugs.
aria1121
 
Posts: 1502

Postby aria1121 » 05-02-11 5:22 pm

v1.4.0r138 is up
Now comes also in an installer! Lots of improvements; bug fixes, commandlineoptions built-in, better lay-out, etc. Please report bugs of the installer. The downloadable ZIP file conatins the original SynDOSCFG (portable) and the installer.
aria1121
 
Posts: 1502

Postby aria1121 » 05-13-11 9:06 am

Since there are no bug reports and/or idea's, I will post v1.4.3r145. After so, I will sort-of stop updating the development of SynDOSCFG. The source will be uploaded too.
aria1121
 
Posts: 1502

Postby aria1121 » 05-13-11 9:22 am

v1.4.3r145 is up.
Source is uploaded.

Edit: source removed untill all general bugs are solved
Last edited by aria1121 on 05-13-11 4:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
aria1121
 
Posts: 1502

Postby Lemo » 05-13-11 12:45 pm

Hey I just tried this to see how it looks like, but the program exits instantly (my Xp install is in C:\)
Stuff & experiments for Synthesia: Gramp v0.2SkinboxFireSynthVideoWebradio
Lemo
 
Posts: 313


Postby aria1121 » 05-13-11 4:05 pm

Can you please detail what happened from downloading 'till sudden exit? Did you use the installer?
aria1121
 
Posts: 1502

Postby aria1121 » 05-13-11 4:36 pm

Anyway, I found the problem.

computerhope.com wrote:Microsoft Windows 2000 and Windows XP users who have batch files that utilize the choice command should modify the batch file to use the MS-DOS set command.

So it was even included in 95, 98, Vista and 7.
It looks like I have much to rewrite again...
Another problem: set isn't available on Vista...
aria1121
 
Posts: 1502

Postby Lemo » 05-13-11 9:02 pm

How about trying with Autohotkey then?
While I like command line access to programs, who wants to use DOS nowadays, beside system restore and stuff like that?
I'm discovering how simple it is to create a nice GUI in autohotkey with just a few lines :)
Stuff & experiments for Synthesia: Gramp v0.2SkinboxFireSynthVideoWebradio
Lemo
 
Posts: 313

Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

cron