Sustain Pedal doesn't work

Trouble with Synthesia, your keyboard, or adapter? Think you found a bug?
When describing problems, always mention your OS and game version (shown at the bottom of the title screen).

  • If your keyboard has USB or MIDI ports, there is a tremendously high chance (>99%) it will work with Synthesia. See what you'll need on the keyboards page.
  • If you have a Logitech webcam and can't get your keyboard/adapter to work, see this post.

Postby Tobe1337 » 03-15-17 8:38 am

Hey guys, my first post on this forum.

I have a masterkey 61 and zepthus® Universal Sustain Pedal on windows 7. However when i press a note and then the pedal to sustain it, nothing happens in Synthesia.
I downloaded Midi-OX to see if there's any signal at all and yes there is. So I'm assuming the problem is Software related. Does anybody have an idea? Thx!
Tobe1337
 
Posts: 5

Postby Nicholas » 03-16-17 7:02 am

Which signal do you see in MIDI-OX? If you could: hearing which STATUS, DATA1, and DATA2 values you're seeing will be helpful.

We had some pedal fixes included in Synthesia 10.3 so if you have an older version, downloading the latest might help. And, there was one other small bug discovered since then that will be in the next development preview (beta) of Synthesia 11. Depending on the exact DATA1 and DATA2 values in MIDI-OX, some pedal messages were being erroneously filtered out.
Nicholas
 
Posts: 10634

Postby IvanL » 03-16-17 12:25 pm

What is supposed to happen in Synthesia? I haven't seen any pedal annotations in the built in songs yet.
IvanL
 
Posts: 11

Postby Nicholas » 03-17-17 5:40 am

Synthesia doesn't use the pedal for anything in particular. Instead, it leaves it as a completely unaltered stylistic user-choice that simply gets forwarded to your output device.

(The lack of pedal markings in the sheet music is a limitation of Synthesia's sheet music renderer that we'll be fixing in the upcoming Synthesia 11 release.)
Nicholas
 
Posts: 10634

Postby Tobe1337 » 03-20-17 5:19 am

Hello Nicholas,

my current version of Synthesia is 10.3.4096
Here is what I'm getting in Midi-OX when I press and release the pedal.
Am i correct in assuming that the problem is with Synthesia since I'm getting a signal?

Kind regards
Attachments
midi-ox.jpg
midi-ox.jpg (18.64 KiB) Viewed 323 times
Tobe1337
 
Posts: 5

Postby Nicholas » 03-23-17 1:23 pm

Hmm, that looks correct (and it shouldn't have hit the recently discovered bug; that was only if DATA2 was also showing 40). Just to double-check, are you using the latest version of Synthesia? It should say 10.3 at the lower-right on the title screen.

It would also be helpful to see what Synthesia is actually sending out. If it's not too much trouble, here's how you can set that up to monitor Synthesia's output in MIDI-OX:

  1. Install one of the free virtual MIDI loopback drivers: either LoopBe1 or loopMIDI.
  2. Set Synthesia to also output "Everything" to that driver (on the Settings screen).
  3. In MIDI-OX's device window, turn off input from your keyboard and turn on input from the loopback driver.
Now, if you run both at the same time, everything Synthesia sends out should be caught by MIDI-OX. Now what happens when you press your pedal during a song? Does it generate pedal messages?
Nicholas
 
Posts: 10634

Postby Tobe1337 » 03-25-17 9:52 am

Hello Nicholas, thank you so much for your help!

So i downloaded the 10.3 installer from the Synthesia homepage and uninstalled my current version, installed again and it still shows 10.3.4096. But I don't think that's the problem.

I'm not sure if I did those 3 steps correctly that you asked for. The first 2 were easy enough.
I dled loopMIDI and set it as an output device for Synthesia (first 2 steps). Then it got a little trickier.
First i opened MIDI-OX.
Then i opened the MIDI Devices Window as seen in the picture. I then selected masterkey61 and hit the red cross (not sure if that did anything). Then i selected the loopMIDI Port and hit OK.
After that i opened loopMIDI and added a new port as seen in the picture.
Then i opened Synthesia and played a note and activated the sustain pedal in "Free Play".
This is the result i was getting in MIDI-OX.

It doesn't look much different from before so I'm not sure if it worked.
Attachments
Devices.JPG
Devices.JPG (38.07 KiB) Viewed 170 times
midi-ox.jpg
midi-ox.jpg (22.08 KiB) Viewed 170 times
loopMIDI.JPG
loopMIDI.JPG (24.17 KiB) Viewed 170 times
Tobe1337
 
Posts: 5

Postby Tobe1337 » 03-27-17 1:59 pm

It works now, It's just that Synthesia doesnt recognize the pedal for the score counter sadly. I guess that was what you were refering to about the upcoming version. Well, thank you for your help anyway. It would be great to see this feature implemented soon. Best wishes.
Tobe1337
 
Posts: 5

Postby Nicholas » 03-27-17 3:20 pm

When you say "it works now", you mean you can hear notes making the usual sustained/held sound when holding your pedal? By design back in 2014 we removed any influence the pedal had on scoring or holding the in-game keys down. It's been returned to a simple, stylistic tool that you can use however you like. The 11 release only contains a bug fix for cases where it wasn't even doing that. If you can already hear the sustain effect, 11 won't change anything.
Nicholas
 
Posts: 10634

Postby Tobe1337 » 03-27-17 4:11 pm

Yea I can hear the sustained sound now. Why did you remove that effect by choice? I'm not able to beat my old high scores (that I did with cramping fingers :D) when using the pedal now.
Tobe1337
 
Posts: 5


Return to Help and Bug Reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users