How is your playing area setup

Trouble with Synthesia, your keyboard, or adapter? Think you found a bug?
When describing problems, always mention your OS and game version (shown at the bottom of the title screen).
  • If your keyboard has USB or MIDI ports, there is a tremendously high chance (>99%) it will work with Synthesia. See what you'll need on the keyboards page.
  • If you have a Logitech webcam and can't get your keyboard/adapter to work, see this post.
Post Reply
kickininthefrontsea
Posts: 39
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Post by kickininthefrontsea » 07-01-11 10:10 pm

I've just received my new 88 key casio px-130, I kind of knew how big it was going to be but playing on it and living with it are a bit of a challenge.

How is your area setup ?

My problems are the PC keyboard and mouse are hard to reach,
the keyboard is 10 cm too high, or chair is too low
should I have a stand of the right height that is easily movable, that is placed just in front of the desk
Attachments
desk.jpg
desk.jpg (69.06 KiB) Viewed 2853 times

User avatar
stephenhazel
Posts: 223
Location: Seattle, WA stephen.hazel@gmail.com

Post by stephenhazel » 07-02-11 12:27 am

it's kind of tough to get the keys at the right height.
i went through quite a bit of work, but have things almost perfect
http://pianocheater.com/docs/piano/rig.html

The key/mouse platform is a little bigger now than in the pic.
This config has worked well for me.

User avatar
DC64
Posts: 830
Location: Earth, U.S.

Post by DC64 » 07-02-11 12:47 am

I like your setup, stephenhazel.
I use a drawer infront of my computer as a place for my CPU keyboard and my Casio keyboard infront or to the left of me since the mouse is on the right side. And in a room over I have musical instruments, piano, trumpet, more, ect...
Last edited by DC64 on 07-02-11 4:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"And now for something completely different."

kickininthefrontsea
Posts: 39
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Post by kickininthefrontsea » 07-02-11 4:14 am

Thanks Stephen

I not sure I want to give up my desk but I like the platform, great commitment, and nice site.

I've stacked some books on chairs at either end in front of the desk, it's working for now.
two brackets that slide or swing out from under the desk would be good

Nicholas
Posts: 12023

Post by Nicholas » 07-02-11 4:59 am

Not a great picture, but I have solved the problem with two separate desk areas: one for my development PC and another for the keyboard & iMac.

Kind of an off-topic place for it, but scroll down a little. The iMac is just right for sitting on a piano...

TonE
Synthesia Donor
Posts: 1180

Post by TonE » 07-02-11 5:50 am

Your wooden shelf looks great.

Here one picture from me:
TonE Devices 009 smaller.jpg
A very old synthesizer Kawai K4, BCR2000 and Bitstream 3X midi controllers on the sides, most importantly with ADAM ANF-10 passive monitors
TonE Devices 009 smaller.jpg (357.37 KiB) Viewed 2839 times

User avatar
stephenhazel
Posts: 223
Location: Seattle, WA stephen.hazel@gmail.com

Post by stephenhazel » 07-02-11 11:42 am

cool, what kind of midi interface do you got?
it'd have to do at least 2 in, 1 out eh?
ideally 3 in, 3 out

TonE
Synthesia Donor
Posts: 1180

Post by TonE » 07-02-11 12:19 pm

emagic Unitor8 mk1
TonE Devices 005.jpg
Unitor8 mk1 is the blue device
TonE Devices 005.jpg (205.92 KiB) Viewed 2835 times
Here something useful I wrote about installing midi devices in sequencer.de forum, it is in German but for what do we have Google translate? ;)

User avatar
DC64
Posts: 830
Location: Earth, U.S.

Post by DC64 » 07-02-11 12:21 pm

Is that balancing on a keyboard?
"And now for something completely different."

TonE
Synthesia Donor
Posts: 1180

Post by TonE » 07-02-11 12:29 pm

DC64 wrote:Is that balancing on a keyboard?
You mean if the two screens are staying on the Kawai K4? Yes, I just put the screens on the synthesizer to save space on the table. Old synthesizers are more stable than newer ones I think. :)

Post Reply