Sustain Pedal doesn't work

Trouble with Synthesia, your keyboard, or adapter? Think you found a bug?
When describing problems, always mention your OS and game version (shown at the bottom of the title screen).

If your keyboard has USB or MIDI ports, there is a tremendously high chance (>99%) it will work with Synthesia. See what you'll need on the keyboards page.
Tobe1337

Post by Tobe1337 »

Hey guys, my first post on this forum.

I have a masterkey 61 and zepthus® Universal Sustain Pedal on windows 7. However when i press a note and then the pedal to sustain it, nothing happens in Synthesia.
I downloaded Midi-OX to see if there's any signal at all and yes there is. So I'm assuming the problem is Software related. Does anybody have an idea? Thx!
Nicholas

Post by Nicholas »

Which signal do you see in MIDI-OX? If you could: hearing which STATUS, DATA1, and DATA2 values you're seeing will be helpful.

We had some pedal fixes included in Synthesia 10.3 so if you have an older version, downloading the latest might help. And, there was one other small bug discovered since then that will be in the next development preview (beta) of Synthesia 11. Depending on the exact DATA1 and DATA2 values in MIDI-OX, some pedal messages were being erroneously filtered out.
IvanL

Post by IvanL »

What is supposed to happen in Synthesia? I haven't seen any pedal annotations in the built in songs yet.
Nicholas

Post by Nicholas »

Synthesia doesn't use the pedal for anything in particular. Instead, it leaves it as a completely unaltered stylistic user-choice that simply gets forwarded to your output device.

(The lack of pedal markings in the sheet music is a limitation of Synthesia's sheet music renderer that we'll be fixing in the upcoming Synthesia 11 release.)
Tobe1337

Post by Tobe1337 »

Hello Nicholas,

my current version of Synthesia is 10.3.4096
Here is what I'm getting in Midi-OX when I press and release the pedal.