split piano parts

Trouble with Synthesia, your keyboard, or adapter? Think you found a bug?
When describing problems, always mention your OS and game version (shown at the bottom of the title screen).
  • If your keyboard has USB or MIDI ports, there is a tremendously high chance (>99%) it will work with Synthesia. See what you'll need on the keyboards page.
  • If you have a Logitech webcam and can't get your keyboard/adapter to work, see this post.
Post Reply
Rachelellenmason
Posts: 7

Post by Rachelellenmason » 09-16-18 12:57 pm

I'm having trouble splitting the piano part plz watch this video >https://www.useloom.com/share/91dd5f409 ... cc0e5db269 >

I'm using synthesia 10.4.4395

st5555
Posts: 31
Location: Vermont

Post by st5555 » 09-16-18 6:15 pm

Try viewing this page on how to split into two hands.
Hope it helps!

https://www.synthesiagame.com/support/guide/assignHands

Rachelellenmason
Posts: 7

Post by Rachelellenmason » 09-17-18 11:03 am

Yes, I read that page many times before posting but it didn't help at all.

In the video, you can see that even though it shows it was all right hand but half shows up on the left hand I just don't understand it but thanks for offering that page to help.

Changing the hand on the custom seems to have no effect. It just shows up in the bass clef.

Nicholas
Posts: 11911

Post by Nicholas » 09-17-18 11:52 am

Thanks for the video and clear description. (If a picture is worth a thousand words, videos are worth even more!)

Today the hand-split information isn't used by the sheet music display. Due to limitations in our sheet music renderer (like not being able to draw 8va or 8vb indicators), we've always picked a split close to Middle C for the sheet music.

The good news is that this limitation will finally be removed in the major Synthesia 11 update, which is all about (finally) improving the sheet music. Sorry for the inconvenience in the meantime!

Rachelellenmason
Posts: 7

Post by Rachelellenmason » 09-17-18 10:59 pm

But when is the synthesia 11 update coming out???

Rachelellenmason
Posts: 7

Post by Rachelellenmason » 09-17-18 11:00 pm

Thanks so much for responding, Nicolas. Excited for version 11.

Rachelellenmason
Posts: 7

Post by Rachelellenmason » 09-17-18 11:45 pm

I figured out how to fix it I went into Musescore and redid my song the first line and it fixed it but thanks for the help!!

Nicholas
Posts: 11911

Post by Nicholas » 09-18-18 12:22 pm

Yeah, in the current version, the way to get proper staff separation is to make sure you don't have any notes in the opposite hand that cross "too far" over the middle C line. (I think "too far" is something like 3 or 4 half-steps. Today Synthesia doesn't like to make too many ledger lines for fear of running into the other staff. In Synthesia 11 all of that will be fixed.)

Otherwise, we don't have a release date for Synthesia 11 yet, but you can follow along with the development progress by keeping an eye on the forum topic I linked last time.

Post Reply