Basic understanding of synthesia

Discuss methods, books, lessons, and websites you use to learn.
No explicit, hateful, or hurtful language. Nothing illegal.
papajo

Post by papajo »

Hello, I am a total beginner and cant understand some things... I searched on synthesia FAQ about them (my questions are about hand placement and fingering) but what I found was about how to arrange the colours of your own midi files etc...

I cant understand the numbers for example when I see on the bar the number "1" I assume I should puck the key to the corresponding bar/note with my index finger (or is it the pointer? ) if I see the number "5" with my pinky and so on...

But I getting confused since even at "easy" midis there are some swapping of the sides and fingers... for example on "amazing grace" the easy version in synthesia this is how I place my hands (if I am placing them wrong then please tell me how and most of all WHY -so that understand why im placing them that way = why is it more accurate to do so)

I mean its an easy song it hasnt yet started and I am already confused... how to put my forth finger of my left hand in that note? (because if I do that it means that my 3rd finger has to go next to that my 2nd next to that and my 1st has to overlap the 1st finger of my right hand... )

and if that wasnt enough there is a part that confuses me even more!!!

I mean what should I do here since c4 was designated previously by synthesia for the 1st finger of my right hand... why not not hit it with the 1st finger of my right hand and instead hit it with the 1st finger of my left hand? its not only that its confusing i find it counter intuitive i would be more comfortable to push c4 with my 1st finger of my right hand (green) since I had that finger hovering already there..... pelase explain in detail to me what should this happen (I mean dont just tell me to do it because its right but also what does it help or why is it right otherwise I wont be able to understand.. :()