Synthesia 11

Try new versions before anyone else!
Always the latest dev version: [ win ] [ mac ] [ android beta opt-in ]
Please report comments and bugs!

Your data hasn't disappeared: development previews store their data in a different place. Details here.

Postby Nicholas » 10-16-17 10:40 am

Still MIDI and still the ugly, existing notation. (Loading MusicXML and sprucing up the notation will be covered in the next two previews, respectively.)

And yes, finger hints will eventually be shown on the staff. (Two previews from this upcoming one, when the notation gets spruced up. :) )

This preview is more about getting the interactivity of the notation up to par with the falling note interactions so all the features can still be used when in sheet-only mode.

EDIT: copy-pasting the progress update here so it shows up at the top of this new page. :D



Progress Update!

multiLine.png
multiLine.png (104.7 KiB) Viewed 3200 times

  • Grand staff braces are back and rendered pixel-accurately regardless of staff size/spacing. (This is the first dynamically-sized element of many and needed a bit of new technology for the new music font infrastructure.)
  • Staffs are fully justified (all the same width) again.
  • Many lines can fill the screen now!
Things remaining before the next Synthesia 11 preview:

  • Page-turn effect: both restoring the old single-line effect and introducing a new one for multi-line mode.
  • UI to toggle between single/multi-line notation mode.
  • Sheet music interaction: bookmarks and loops. (Finger hints will remain editable via falling-notes only for now. Rationale in the last paragraph of this post.)
I've also recently decided to make a small Synthesia 10.4 bug-fix release in the meantime -- even before this next Synthesia 11 preview is finished -- just to catch the rest of the outside-the-forum world up on all the other work that has been completed since 10.3 (Win10 BLE MIDI, the new label mode, new key light modes, bug fixes, etc.). That will hopefully liven up the site's front page news list. There should be a preview for that release, soon'ish.
Nicholas
 
Posts: 11427

Postby Nicholas » 10-16-17 4:16 pm

Progress Update!

In the same way the falling notes have to show repeated notes due to an upcoming loop, the sheet music will be doing the same:

sheetLoop.png
sheetLoop.png (44.62 KiB) Viewed 3189 times

In this case, the loop happens to contain the final line ("system") of the song, so it gets repeated over and over. :) (If the entire loop fits on a single system, instead of filling the screen with that same line, it will simply draw it once.)

Eventually there will be an annotation right on the sheet music showing the loop boundaries, much like the orange indicator in the left margin of the falling note area. Hopefully that will help make it look a little less silly. :lol:
Nicholas
 
Posts: 11427

Postby jimhenry » 10-16-17 5:49 pm

Have you considered enclosing a loop in the musical symbols for repeats (double bars with double dots) and then just bouncing the cursor from the end to the start?
Jim Henry
Author of the Miditzer, a free virtual theatre pipe organ
http://www.VirtualOrgan.com/
User avatar
jimhenry
 
Posts: 1727
Location: Southern California

Postby Nicholas » 10-16-17 6:07 pm

Repeat dots are an interesting problem. Given that MusicXML pieces will have a relatively rigid layout (predetermined measure numbers, repeats/endings baked in, maybe some limitations on where you can do line-breaking, etc.). So rearranging things (say, so the loop starts at the beginning of the line after the first repeat) might be tricky. And, if the song already has repeat dots here-and-there, adding additional repeat markers might get confusing, too.

Maybe an extra-stylized version of the marker -- bright orange, maybe larger, etc. -- would help make it easier to drop in wherever you've defined your loop boundaries.

It's going to get really interesting when you drag a loop across a section of the sheet music that contains repeats with more than one ending! Imagine dragging the loop across a single measure and having the same loop indicator in the timeline jump halfway across the song. Going the other way: as you drag a loop across the timeline, you might end up with it spanning the same sheet music measures more than once if a repeat is involved. Is there a way to highlight that differently to show that a single loop iteration will be covering certain measures more than once?
Nicholas
 
Posts: 11427

Postby mphasis1983 » 10-17-17 4:34 am

does that mean you wont be able to make loops less than half a measure in the next preview?
mphasis1983
 
Posts: 10

Postby Nicholas » 10-17-17 9:46 am

From the falling note interface, everything will continue to work exactly as it does today. No changes.

When creating loops via the sheet music interface, there will be a little bit of snapping. Right now the goal is snapping to the beginning/end of notes (or rests) inside a measure.

If you create a loop in the falling note area that is right in the middle of a note and then view it in the sheet music area, that display will probably still have to snap to the nearest note's or rest's beginning/end. The technical reason is because the notion of "time" becomes a little discontinuous when looking at sheet music. Not only are there gaps that don't contain any time at all -- say, the space between the bar line at the start of a measure and the first note in that measure -- but also how far along in a measure you are vs. how much time as elapsed in that measure isn't a linear relationship at all. It makes a lot of things trickier to calculate internally and trickier to allow users to interact with!
Nicholas
 
Posts: 11427

Postby mphasis1983 » 10-18-17 6:32 am

im not sure if this is possible but ill ask anyway. would there be any chance i could buy a personal preview where you can loop less than half a measure on the falling note interface? i really want to loop smaller parts of a piece, i used to loop 8th notes but this isnt possible anymore. i would have no problem paying for this if it is possible.
mphasis1983
 
Posts: 10

Postby Nicholas » 10-18-17 9:01 am

The next preview will actually allow shorter loops. Someone else brought that to our attention a few weeks ago and I couldn't find any good reason why the limit was set as large as it was. I think it's back down to between 16th and 8th note length.

EDIT: Oh! That was you and it was a few months ago! Time has been flying lately, sheesh. In any event, you won't have to wait much longer. :)
Nicholas
 
Posts: 11427

Postby mphasis1983 » 10-18-17 9:40 am

yep, im sure that would have been me :) thank you so much for this :D its all good my friend, i dont mind waiting a bit longer for it, its better than putting a really old version on my new mac. thanks again :D
mphasis1983
 
Posts: 10

Postby miek » 10-18-17 3:54 pm

If you set up a loop over a section of a repeat, should the software think " arrr! the user wants to practice the piece in a certain way":
- if the repeat (end : || bar divider) occurs inside the loop it means the user does not want to practice the repeat.
- if the entire loop is within a repeated bit there no need to repeat
- if the repeat (start ||: bar divider) occurs inside the loop if also means the user does not want to practice the repeat
- if both the repeats are inside the loop then the user wants to practice the repeat

Just thinking?
miek
 
Posts: 21

Postby Nicholas » 10-18-17 7:52 pm

We'll see how it shakes out from interacting in the sheet music area. (I'm afraid that dragging a loop across a first and second ending after repeat bars will force the repeat to be included, even if it doesn't start before the initial repeat sign.)

The good news is that the timeline bar at the top of the screen "unrolls" everything and presents the entire song linearly. So, there is no such thing as a musical repeat in the timeline. Worst-case, if you can't get the loop to behave the way you want using the sheet music area, you'll always be able to adjust things in the timeline to get exactly what you want.
Nicholas
 
Posts: 11427

Postby jimhenry » 10-18-17 10:11 pm

Maybe you should just require that sheet music be displayed in timeline when looping. You could have the loop controls automatically go into timeline display so you don't have to answer the "why is looping not working in sheet music mode" questions.
Jim Henry
Author of the Miditzer, a free virtual theatre pipe organ
http://www.VirtualOrgan.com/
User avatar
jimhenry
 
Posts: 1727
Location: Southern California

Postby mphasis1983 » 10-25-17 5:05 am

thanks for the preview. the loop is working great :D
mphasis1983
 
Posts: 10

Postby spstarr » 12-26-17 3:00 pm

If I may ask, could we please improve how to split left/right since many MIDIs i find just don't have the left/right split properly. I find it difficult to split hands in the current UI. Any changes coming to this?

Thanks,
Shawn
spstarr
 
Posts: 4

Postby Nicholas » 12-26-17 6:59 pm

How would you improve it? Which parts are frustrating?
Nicholas
 
Posts: 11427

Postby meirppp » 12-27-17 12:12 pm

I would be glad if we can make the splitting on the main screen so if i play something and want to change hands i would able to do it and not to search the place in the splitting area.
Another thing is that the sheet music is in the main screen so if i want to reorder the notes i will use it.
And the sheet music isn't in the splitting area.
meirppp
 
Posts: 25

Postby Viatorus » 01-07-18 10:01 am

Any plans/timeline when version 11 will be released? Can't wait to have it!
Viatorus
 
Posts: 3

Postby Nicholas » 01-07-18 2:52 pm

No time estimate yet. Keep an eye on this section of the forum for development previews and updates. :D
Nicholas
 
Posts: 11427

Postby spstarr » 01-12-18 4:07 am

meirppp wrote:I would be glad if we can make the splitting on the main screen so if i play something and want to change hands i would able to do it and not to search the place in the splitting area.
Another thing is that the sheet music is in the main screen so if i want to reorder the notes i will use it.
And the sheet music isn't in the splitting area.


I concur, having to search to split left/right cound be improved, I am seeing issues where I can't save my notes split, the keyboard appears cut off for some reason, looking forward to trying Synthesia 11, beta builds.
spstarr
 
Posts: 4

Postby Nicholas » 01-18-18 12:59 pm

What did you mean "can't save my notes split"? If you back out of that screen and immediately start the song, the hands aren't split the way you had just indicated? Or they're not saving correctly after closing and reopening the app?

The keyboard being cut off is intentional: we push it down most of the way to free up more space on the screen to assign falling notes. On that particular screen, the keyboard isn't used for much besides a rough position guide, so it made sense to hide most of it.
Nicholas
 
Posts: 11427

PreviousNext

Return to Development Updates

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users