Synthesia UI on Android phone often unresponsive

Trouble with Synthesia, your keyboard, or adapter? Think you found a bug?
When describing problems, always mention your OS and game version (shown at the bottom of the title screen).
  • If your keyboard has USB or MIDI ports, there is a tremendously high chance (>99%) it will work with Synthesia. See what you'll need on the keyboards page.
  • If you have a Logitech webcam and can't get your keyboard/adapter to work, see this post.
olkhov
Posts: 29

Post by olkhov » 10-08-18 3:45 pm

I have connected my Roland FP30 via USB to a Huawei P Smart phone, Android 8. Everything seems working but some UI elements, like Continue, Synthesia, Back and many others are rather unresponsive to touches. Every time I press those there is no visual feedback, and I need to press any key on piano to get the touch do its work on the phone. Feels like USB communication is in the way of UI somehow. Is this normal, or just bad luck with this HW configuration?

Thank you.

Nicholas
Posts: 11996

Post by Nicholas » 10-09-18 3:47 am

If you opt into the beta (here) and try out the 10.5 update, does that fix the problem?

olkhov
Posts: 29

Post by olkhov » 10-09-18 2:15 pm

It's much better now - so much that it actually became usable on my setup.

Thank you.

olkhov
Posts: 29

Post by olkhov » 10-21-18 2:33 am

Confirming again that 10.5 is much better. I have to say though that connection to piano (Huawei P Smart phone to Roland FP30) gets lost when

- screen goes off, manually or automatically
- usb cable is disconnected and reconnected

Sometimes restarting the app helps, but not always. Last time (there was no output, input worked - strangely enough) I had to power-cycle the piano and reboot the phone.

Another thing - if I disconnect the usb cable while screen is off then when I wake up the phone the UI is completely of the track - need to restart the app.

Is there a place for beta-testers where they could submit tickets?

Nicholas
Posts: 11996

Post by Nicholas » 11-08-18 2:35 am

olkhov wrote:Is there a place for beta-testers where they could submit tickets?
Somewhere in Google Play they've got an option to "submit beta feedback" and I try to check that as best I can, but honestly my most-frequented place (and the least likely to fall through the cracks) is this forum. The best place for beta feedback is usually right in the announcement topic in the Development Updates section of the forum.

stomorska
Posts: 10

Post by stomorska » 08-30-19 5:02 pm

Hello to everybody...

I have Roland FP30 digital piano.

I installes Synthesia on my mobile phone Huawei P30 Pro….. but..... during playing imported midi file thorugh Synthesia, after few minutes of file playback, the application freezes the piano.

Playback is heard over the cellphone but not through the piano. After that, I must restart piano.???

I dont know is it a problem because I am using trial version….. I will buy aplication, after PP2, I am looking aplication, compatible with Roland FP30 and Android devices.

Thank you for your comments and suggestions.

Nicholas
Posts: 11996

Post by Nicholas » 08-30-19 11:19 pm

Hmm. That isn't a limitation of the trial.

Are you able to try it with the keyboard connected directly to something with a wire? I wonder if the Bluetooth MIDI connection is being a little flaky. (Bluetooth on Android is notoriously bad.)

stomorska
Posts: 10

Post by stomorska » 08-31-19 12:47 pm

Dear Nicholas,

connection via bluetotth does not work so so I connected my cellphone via USB cable to the USB input on the piano.

As I wrote, after few minutes of file playback, the application freezes the piano.

I was at the Apple store today, the new iPad has Garage Band installed by default.

It's hard for me to understand that android apps are not working properly. Roland Piano Partner 2 application works with full functionality but cannot be imported midi files into the application. Or maybe I don't know how? I tried but without success.

For now, I only need aplication to play midi files to my piano from android device. Those midi files are without vocal ;-)

Nicholas
Posts: 11996

Post by Nicholas » 08-31-19 4:42 pm

Hmm, the piano still locks up, even with a wired connection? That's very strange.

When you say it locks up, do you mean it stops responding completely and the only way to get it to do anything is to power it off and then back on again?

I don't usually like ascribing blame to others, but there really shouldn't be any possible series of messages sent from the outside that can lock up a digital piano. Since Synthesia doesn't freeze other pianos, I want to say this is a quality issue on Roland's side. Synthesia only sends plain, standards-compliant MIDI messages, so I can't imagine what might cause the keyboard to become unresponsive.

Perhaps Roland has a firmware update for it that will fix the bugs in the piano?

stomorska
Posts: 10

Post by stomorska » 09-01-19 4:06 pm

Yes Nicholas, piano stops responding completely and the only way to get it to do anything is to power it off and then back on again. In the same time, while the piano is paused, the midi file is still playing on the cellphone. :-)

Tonight, I borrowed an iPad from a neighbor, installed Synthesia ... the iPad immediately recognise my DP via bluetoth and plays the imported midi file without stoping or freezing the piano.

Also, before few days I update DP with new firmware....

So, conclusion is, .. I must buy iPad, but...... is it worth it to spend money on iPad just to play midi files? I can still use a USB stick to play.

Nicholas
Posts: 11996

Post by Nicholas » 09-02-19 12:02 am

How curious that it's only freezing your piano with Android!

When you connect via wired-USB on your Android device, does it make a difference if you change the "Music Device Connection Method" at the top of the settings screen? If you change between "Android M MIDI" and the "Built-in USB-MIDI driver" options (restarting the app between changes), does one of those not freeze the piano?

stomorska
Posts: 10

Post by stomorska » 09-02-19 8:37 am

Thank you for advice, I'll check tonight

stomorska
Posts: 10

Post by stomorska » 09-02-19 8:52 am

Dear Nicholas,

currently, I have the following settings on my device:

Music device connection method: "Built-in USB-MIDI driver"
Music input: "Synthesia Touchscreen Keyboard" - OFF

Music output:
"Built-in MIDI Synthesizer" - everything is enabled, and "Use this device", not "Don't send output to this device"

Also at "Leagcy Android MIDI Synthesizer".... everything is enabled, not "Don't send output to this device" .... "Key lights" - OFF; "Prevent "local" notes" - OFF, and "MIDI channel" - Omni (All channels)...

I'll try tonight switch "Music Device Connection Method"

Tnx

stomorska
Posts: 10

Post by stomorska » 09-03-19 9:09 am

Unfortunately, even with the changed setting, it blocks the piano after a few minutes playing midi file.

Music device connection method: "Built-in USB-MIDI driver" I changed to "Android M MIDI"

Lucky me....

Nicholas
Posts: 11996

Post by Nicholas » 09-04-19 3:57 pm

This is definitely a question for Roland then. The "Android M MIDI" uses the official, built-in support from Google to connect to MIDI devices, so if messages being sent that way can still freeze the keyboard, the keyboard needs to become more resilient.

Sorry for passing you along to a different support team, but it sounds like this is a problem outside of our hands.

stomorska
Posts: 10

Post by stomorska » 09-05-19 9:07 am

Dear Nicholas, I want to thank you for your advices.

Does Rolan have support? I am skeptical and doubt that there is service support....

My last attempt is to unlock (buy) Synthesia, though I suspect the problem is in the trial version.

Nicholas
Posts: 11996

Post by Nicholas » 09-05-19 4:27 pm

It's usually a little harder to get through to the support team for larger companies, but I'm sure they have one.

(Otherwise: it won't be the difference between the demo vs. unlocked version of Synthesia! It's the exact same app and the unlocking component doesn't interact with the MIDI communication code in any way. Half of the reason for making a demo available is so users can test their hardware to see if it works before they need to make a purchasing decision.)

stomorska
Posts: 10

Post by stomorska » 09-06-19 5:10 am

... last attempt, I will try to connect Android device to this port: https://synthesiagame.com/keyboards/Help/android/usb .... instead USB port on my DP.

I'll let you know the result ;)

stomorska
Posts: 10

Post by stomorska » 09-09-19 9:15 am

My last attempr was not successful.

When I connect my Huawei with "printer cable" to "USB to Host" on my DP, Huawei doesn't recognize "midi" interface. https://synthesiagame.com/keyboards/Hel ... id/unknown

Ok, the problem is on Roland, because I believe that Synthesia working with Android devices.

Also, older iPhone version doesn't work with Synthesia. For example, iPhone 4 doesn't recognize Synthesia on APPstore.

I'll try with iPhone 5.

To be continued....

Nicholas
Posts: 11996

Post by Nicholas » 09-09-19 2:26 pm

On the Apple side of things, Synthesia is iPad-only. There is no iPhone version.

Post Reply