iPad 11" and Roland FP-10

Trouble with Synthesia, your keyboard, or adapter? Think you found a bug?
When describing problems, always mention your OS and game version (shown at the bottom of the title screen).
  • If your keyboard has USB or MIDI ports, there is a tremendously high chance (>99%) it will work with Synthesia. See what you'll need on the keyboards page.
  • If you have a Logitech webcam and can't get your keyboard/adapter to work, see this post.
Post Reply
wander06
Posts: 3

Post by wander06 » 10-08-19 4:23 pm

Hi guys, before buying a piano and the synthesia app I would like to know if it is possible to connect an iPad 11" with Synthesia app and Roland FP-10 piano together and how ? Thanks in advance ;)

Nicholas
Posts: 11993

Post by Nicholas » 10-10-19 4:46 am

They should work together just fine. :)

Did you mean the 11" iPad Pro? If it's the model with USB-C, you can get away with connecting the two using a single, plain USB B-to-C cable.

Even better, the Bluetooth feature should let you connect them with NO additional hardware (although, the latency--or delay between pressing keys and the iPad finding out about them--over Bluetooth is usually a little higher than when using a cable).

wander06
Posts: 3

Post by wander06 » 10-10-19 7:19 am

Thank you for reply Nicolas, yes it's the iPad Pro, I will try it over bluetooth ! :)

Nicholas
Posts: 11993

Post by Nicholas » 10-10-19 10:56 am

One small caveat: if you've already updated your iPad to iPadOS 13 or later, that OS update broke the "Bluetooth Settings" button in Synthesia, which now crashes immediately if you tap it. (If you've still got an older version of iOS, it should be fine.)

We'll hopefully be releasing a small bug-fix update in a couple days to fix it on iPadOS 13, too!

wander06
Posts: 3

Post by wander06 » 10-10-19 12:30 pm

Awesome ! :)

tblb
Posts: 1

Post by tblb » 10-14-19 5:08 am

I have an ipad pro 12.9 and ios 13, when i press bluetooth midi, my piano is not detected (kawai), i launch a kawai app (virtual technician) my piano is detected and connected, than i go back to synthesia, my kawai is now connected in BT and i can practice with bluetooth.

Nicholas
Posts: 11993

Post by Nicholas » 10-14-19 6:11 am

That is a nice workaround, thanks for the report! (I'd forgotten that once a BLE-MIDI device is connected via any app, it shows up in the list of MIDI devices in every app.)

Post Reply